lately

12 May

Dear Blog,

I’ve been awful, I know. I’ve neglected you for nearly a month now. A MONTH! Where did the time go? I have a bunch of excuses ready to explain my absence, but I totally understand if you don’t accept them. But, just in case you do–and, these are real, legit reasons, here!–here are a few reasons why I haven’t written:

  • In the past 6 weeks, I’ve been to Michigan, Seattle, and Washington DC.  And, sprinkled in there are weekends spent in San Francisco, weekends having friends over..  all this to say, I just haven’t been around.
  • Someone in our department left recently, so my workload got a little heavier.  After spending all day in front of a comp, sitting down to blog just isn’t super appealing (I’m sorry! I still think you’re pretty, though). 
  • I’ve been enjoying life.  Now that I know where I’m going, I feel like I can finally breathe.  All those friends I’ve put off seeing during the past 9 months are now a part of my regular rotation again; now, that I can actually make plans with folks instead of saying “Well, I don’t know.  It depends on xyz school.”  Looking at my calendar, I can see that August will be here before I know it, and I’ll be hitting the road with SH.  Totally crazy!

Ok, now that we’ve gotten some of awkwardness out-of-the-way–oh wait, I forgot to make my seemingly meaningless promise to blog more.   Here it is: I’ll blog more, I promise!  Once a week, at least.  It’ll happen.  

But, here’s a list I can get behind.  I did a detox diet a few weeks ago, and have since gotten back on the caffeine/alcohol wagon.  But, what the detox diet did teach me is how to eat healthier.   And, I’ve stuck to it!  Amazing.   Some of my more recent food obsessions are:

  • Quinoa.  The first time I cooked quinoa I cooked it over the stove, and it sucked.  I think this may have something to do with the fact that I don’t even know how to make rice over a stove.  Hello, I have a rice cooker.  So, when I found out you could make quinoa in a rice cooker, I tried again, and it was fantastic.   It cooked evenly, tasted great, and now I regularly scour the interwebs looking for new ways to serve it up.  In fact, tonight, I’m going to make my version of a Quinoa taco salad.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  (Maybe).
  • Arugula.  Who knew I could eat so much of it? I can! And I do.  Heck, I might even throw it into the salad later. Whoa.
  • Edamame.  I eat these all the times.  I’m snacking on some now, even.  I love that Trader Joe’s sells these shelled, and ready to eat.  Or maybe I don’t, cause it’s very possible that I’ve eaten a whole container in one sitting.  Very possible.
  • Hummus.  Do I need to sell you on hummus? I hope not.  If I had a food processor, I would totally be making my own.  I think.

But, if you’re not interested in becoming an almost vegetarian like me, I’ve been thinking about other things, too.   (The human brain is amazing!  Look at how many unrelated thoughts I can have.  Or, maybe, I’m the amazing one.  You can decide (no pressure to share)):

  • The actual logistics of moving out of a home I’ve lived in for over 3 years.  I have SO MUCH stuff.  Who knew. 
  • Finding a new home.  That has a washer/dryer.  And, possibly, a gas-range stove.  A fireplace would be nice, too.  Oh! And a fenced-in yard.  2 BR/1.5 BA would be ideal.  Too much?  I’d settle for a spacious one-bedroom with a washer/dryer.  I should probably talk to SH about this, instead of blog about it.. hmmm
  • Saying goodbye.  How do you say goodbye to lovely, lovely people who have peppered your life with much laughter and beautiful memories?  After watching a recent episode of “The Office,” I think the correct answer is to just lie to everyone about when you’re actually leaving, do sneaky non-goodbye-goodbye’s, and just leave.   Michael Scott, I think you may be onto something here!
Leave a Reply

