pull ups

16 Mar

Two posts in one day! Must be all that awesome coffee I’ve been drinking.  Which reminds me, I should write a yelp review for that place.  I digress.

So, I recently added a 30 in 30 goal to do a pull up.  I figured, how hard can they be?  I go to the gym semi-regularly, recently upgraded my weights to 8 lbs, piece of cake!~  My ego lied to me.  I mean, yes, I’ve only been ‘training’ for this for two days, so I still have 7 months to improve.  Well, training might be overselling it; training is just attempting to do 10 of some sort of pull-up each day.  On my first day, I had to ask SH to help me figure out how I could even start.  First of all, I have to jump a little to even reach the bar.  Secondly, I have apparently, no upper body strength.  I mean, I knew I didn’t have Madonna arms, or even Michelle Obama’s, but still.. I thought I would be able to move myself a little bit.

Oh my poor, poor ego.  To SH’s credit, he didn’t laugh at me (too much), as he suggested I try with a chair until I get it right.  I thought the chair-assisted pull-ups were a cinch, until SH pointed out that I was using mostly my legs.  Which created another 3 minutes of hilarity at my expense if figuring out just how to balance on the chair, but still use my arms to pull me up.   At this rate, my TV debut on Ninja Warrior will have to wait another 3 years or so (I’ll need some time to go to school and get fat, and then time to get skinny again and get over my fear of heights).

Sigh.

Leave a Reply

