just a few more..

16 Mar

Here’s the thing.  I know I’ve been incredibly lucky to have gotten into 2 of my schools already (yes, this is another post about my MBA apps–I’ll save my recipe and pictures of cheesecake brownies for another day).   But, I really, really want to get into at least one more.   My superstitious self won’t let me post specifics about this school until I’m officially in (or out), so I won’t say too much.  Other than this school was one of the main reasons I even started this MBA process.   I thought I was pretty good at being patient (my dog may beg to differ), but waiting for business school decisions of any sort have really put me to the test.   This part of the process, this obsessing and waiting, is awful for my psyche.  I’ve replayed all of my interactions with the school, with their alumni; reread all of my essays–and I feel like I could have done better. 

When I started this process, I had a list of 6 schools to apply to.   I ended up only applying to 4–I dropped Wisconsin and Chicago Booth.  I didn’t submit an application to Wisconsin because they had a R3 deadline (out of 4) that was after the decision dates of 2 of the schools I was applying to.  I figured if I got rejected from those schools, I would apply to Wisconsin.  They had a late R2 deadline, I was pretty burned out, and this seemed like a good way to save $$.   Chicago Booth ultimately didn’t make the cut for me because I attended an informal happy hour like event in NYC with current students.  I left the event early and feeling a bit disenchanted.

Anyways, while I am thrilled with my two admits so far, I’m really waiting to hear from the two that seem to be alluding me.  One, I’ve already written off.  Oh Stanford, how you tempt me with your gorgeous campus, awesome curriculum, and proximity to my current life.   I knew going into this that you would be a reach for me;  I graduated from my undergraduate in 2004 and have a slightly lower GPA.  Still, I had to try.

Note to self: it’s totally fine if you don’t get in! Really.  You’re having a hard enough time scheduling these upcoming admit weekends as it is.  And, you have some work travel coming up.  Trust the process.  Also?  Know that you did (mostly) your best, and you’ll end up somewhere that values that.  And it will be great.

One Response to “just a few more..”

  1. JustShip March 16, 2011 at 5:23 PM #

    Good luck with the remaining two schools. You’ve applied, so why not hope. At the very least, it’s nice to have two great options already. All will become clearer in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

