next steps

10 Mar

Now that some of the thrill of the acceptances have worn off, I’ve been thinking of all the things that will need to happen in the next few months that will prevent this summer from being a crazy, un-enjoyable mess.  It’s still a little surreal to think that I’ll be leaving this place, this state, that I’ve called home for the last 6 or so years.  I have two separate lists in my mind that need to get out–one, of all the things I’d like to do here before I leave and two, of all the things that I need to do to make this move possible.  I think mostly in list form–my days are filled with creating and crossing off items–and these next few months will be no different.

Cali Bucket List
Things that need to happen to make move possible
Eat at Chez Panisse Donate clothes
Go to the Exploratorium Figure out which furniture pieces are coming with
Wine Tasting/Bocce Ball day Become more diligent about eating food in cupboards
Korean BBQ Buffet Research cross-country moving companies
Plan an awesome going away party Figure out how to sell/donate car
Cal Academy after dark Start collecting boxes (last 4 weeks)
Start inventories of all items

Whew, even just starting this list makes me feel a little better. 

I’ve also decided to enroll in an online Pre-MBA course, just to brush up on my math skills.  Confession: I haven’t taken a math course since high school.  In college, I got away with taking Logic instead of Calc since I was majoring in Political Science.   None of the schools have asked me to do this; but, given my experience in studying for the GMAT, this is probably a good pre-emptive strike against being incredibly behind in the fall.  Cause right now, the word derivatives makes me shudder and my eyes glaze over.  I can only imagine my facial reactions to anything discussed in an Accounting class.

In terms of fitness–it’s week two of rediscovering my inner gymrat. I’m back to waking up 3-4 times a week at 5AM to hit the gym..but this also means I’m usually falling asleep by 10PM.  Sigh.  So, now that 30 Rock airs at 10PM, Thursday nights are a struggle for me. ( These last two sentences have made me feel incredibly old.  Yuck)

To balance all this working out I’m doing, I plan on spending this weekend making a New Orleans style Sunday dinner and on figuring out how to make cake-pops.  I figure if starbucks can do it, I can, too!  I love spending Sundays in the kitchen; I feel like I should enjoy this freedom while I can.

And, I’m done rambling.  Word.

Leave a Reply

