self-congratulatory (read: lots of exclamation points!)

7 Mar

This past weekend I completed one of my 30 in 30 goals–I attended my first yelp elite event.  Hooray for me!  The event was to attend a film festival (Cinequest) pre-party and to then see a film for free.   It was everything I thought it would be: loud, lots of people, free drinks and food.  I took SH as my date, and we mingled with some other yelpers and film folks.   We ended up chatting/hanging out with a few film directors during the pre-party, and.. well, wait.  SH did all this–he chatted them up and asked intelligent questions.  I, on the other hand, refrained from eating a lot of food and drank my beers way too quickly.  The few things I contributed to the conversations were words like “mall-rat” and “seriously?”  Eventually, I shut myself up and just listened to SH chat it up with complete strangers, while I just tried to appear cute and in control of my crazy thoughts.  

I was planning on making this entry just about the yelp event, but I received a phone call not too long ago from one of the schools I applied to.  I’M IN!!   All those weeks of crazy self-doubting are over.  Well, kind of.  I’m still waiting to hear from a few more schools, but it’s just nice to know that I have at least two to choose from.   This was kind of a surprise, as I didn’t think my interview went too well and this was the first application I turned in–at the time of submission, I thought my essays rocked, but as I went on to apply to schools #2 and #3, I could see my writing improving..

Regardless, I was just impressed that I even got invited to interview.  And now, with two acceptances,  I am feeling so much better about my decision to spend the money that I barely have to apply to these institutions.

I still can’t believe I got that call.  I recognized the phone number from lurking on all these forums, but it still felt so surreal, listening to this woman tell me that I was admitted and I should expect something in my email.  I tuned out about half way through her speech–pretty much after the words “congratulations” my head started to spin and I barely processed anything else she said.

Looks like I’m spending this weekend making ‘thank-you’ baskets for everyone who’s contributed to this process.

What a way to start a week!

2 Responses to “self-congratulatory (read: lots of exclamation points!)”

  1. JustShip March 8, 2011 at 11:01 AM #

    Congrats on the acceptances! It’s nice to know that there is a spot for you somewhere, and better still to have options.

    • nt March 8, 2011 at 2:24 PM #

      Thanks, dude! I’m so happy I don’t have to gear myself up to go through the whole rigmorale again.

Leave a Reply

