totally Jersey

3 Mar

I once took the Myers-briggs personality test.  All I remember is that I got a ENTJ.  I’ve recently come to think that the “TJ” means totally Jersey.  Cause no matter how crunchy/feel-good/granola-y I get, there will always be a part of me that is truly east coast–judging others, prickly, and not okay with paying $3 for half a dozen of farm fresh eggs. 

It’s hard to reconcile these two philosophies.  Part of me is constantly making snap judgements; the other part of me gears up to be proven wrong.  I’m not a huge touchy-feely person, but I’ve taken to hugging people when I see them.  Seriously, where did that come from? I blame yoga.  Oh, and the yoga.  I’ve been trying yoga for a few years now; it was hard for me to find instructors and studios where I didn’t want to roll my eyes at the instructor the entire time.  I felt awful about mocking their earnest-ness in my head.  But now, even though I still have to control my natural facial reactions to phrases like “just dance with your spirit through the next few poses”, I’ve come to rely on yoga on keeping me grounded. 

Point?  I’m just trying to “do me.” 

(I seriously need to stop watching the Jersey Shore.)

Leave a Reply

