back ups

1 Mar

To calm my over-caffeinated self, I’ve compiled a list of possible career paths, should I not get into any business schools:

1) Continue to plug away at my current job, squirreling money away, but with full-time employee benefits.  Will live stress-free, able to pursue leisure activities, and take vacations.  Or continue at current job, apply to be a part-time MBA student at local (less prestigious) university.  (the likeliest of all the options)

2) Apply and attend culinary school, and finally, finally, learn how to cut things quickly.  And,  how to filet a fish.  Will lead to eventual career in catering or appearance on Top Chef (where I will sprinkle my speech with catchphrases I’ve picked up from the Jersey Shore).

3) Find my inner zen and become a yoga instructor.  First, I’ll need to master the crow pose.  Then, I’ll start ending all of my blog posts and emails with “Namaste.” 

4) Become a NPO consultant, specializing in grant-writing and special events planning.

5) Is it too late to try to become a professional dancer? I don’t have years of training, can be fairly clumsy, and have yet to master the Worm.  Here’s hoping it doesn’t come down to this..

Really, I write all of this as a means of telling myself:  Don’t freak out if you don’t get in! It’s not the end of the world; you have other options; you can and will move on.

2 Responses to “back ups”

  1. JustShip March 3, 2011 at 11:07 AM #

    Just stumbled across your blog via gmatclub. Keep it up!

    • nt March 4, 2011 at 8:46 AM #

      thanks! just trying to stay sane during this process. i’d almost rather run another marathon.

Leave a Reply

