catching up & appreciations

24 Feb

I am so behind right now..

I’m not 100% sure how this happened (well, actually, I am), but I am super behind with my workload.  It shouldn’t be a huge surprise to me, since I have spent a decent amount of time the last week visiting the MBA forums and trying not to freak out.  And, to calm myself down, I then start to peruse food blogs, where I plan elaborate dinners to get my mind off of things.    So, there are few projects at work that I’m lagging in.  But, I’m a pretty efficient little worker bee, and my brian knows this too, so there’s definitely a part of me that’s allowing myself to be a slacker, and do things like blog. –

I’m also way behind on my fitness.  I don’t think I’ve ever gone this long without working out; at least, within the last 5 years.  My body is definitely feeling the effects.  This weekend, to the gym I will go.  Seriously.  I’m there.  Totally. 

But, onto better and more positive things.

One of my best friends recently moved to SF and I could not be happier.  It’s been years since we’ve been in the same vicinity as each other; we’ve kept our friendship alive and well through emails/phone calls/text messages/Facebook/visits.  And, when we got busy in life, we gave each other the permission to be silent; to not have to respond right away and just know that the other person would be there.  Best friends are fantastic that way.

And now, she lives almost an hour away, by car, and it’s awesome.  She joined me in the South Bay this weekend, and we did what we do best–vegged, ate pho, drank wine, and caught up on life.  It is so refreshing to have people in your life who have known you–all the versions of you that you tried out–before becoming who you are today.  (did that make sense? I’ve had a lot of caffeine today).

Also, one of my cousins was in town this past weekend, and I got to spend a day with her.  As the eldest girl in my family, I’ve watched all of my cousins grow up into incredibly fascinating and intelligent people.  It still surprises me how much everyone’s grown up–that the age differences that used to define us as kids don’t really matter anymore. That 4 year or 7 year age difference that seemed huge in high school, isn’t such a big deal anymore, now that we’re all in our 20s.

(BTW, nothing makes me feel older than thinking about how old my younger cousins are.  Almost all of them are over 21 (save 2), which also means our family gatherings have gotten that much more interesting. It seems that since all of us ‘kids’ can legally drink, our parents have also upped the ante in their drinking as well.)

In any case, this weekend was lovely.  All of us went wine tasting, ate a lot of food, and enjoyed each other’s company.  We reminisced about family vacations, growing up in our immigrant home, and it was–well, lovely.  And hilarious.  I often miss my family and friends on the east coast.  It’s been hard living on the west coast, away from everything familiar, so it’s truly fantastic when people I love come out to visit and I can share with them my favorite west coast things.

Anyways, I’m going to try my hand at sharing a recipe with my 2 readers this weekend, so watch out! I’m still deciding which recipe to start off with–it’ll probably be something fairly simple like cheesecake or flat rice noodles.. we’ll see.

 

Leave a Reply

