june, already?

1 Jun

Sorry, blog! I lied about posting once a week.  It’s totally June now, and I only posted once in May.   But, to be fair, I have been keeping track of items on both my 30 in 30 list and Cali list, so I think those interactions totally count. 

I’ve been attempting to take pictures of the food I’ve been making recently, but am quickly realizing that I am NOT a good food photographer.   My most recent food-related accomplishment is successfully making cake pops.  You know, little bites of joy that contain all the sugary, dessert goodness one needs, in one fell swoop. 

I’m not going to lie.  These were not easy to make.  I got the recipe and technique from Steamy Kitchen. I’m an avid follower of Jaden’s–her website and her food always look SO GOOD–and when she posted this a few months ago, I immediately added it to my “must try” list. 

And seriously, if you’ve ever entertained any thoughts of making cake pops, you should start with this recipe.  In case the picture isn’t clear enough for you, that’s a red velvet cake pop, with a layer of cheesecake and graham crackers, all wrapped up in a candy-coated shell.  The time and messiness is totally worth the effort. 

And, yes, it gets VERY messy.   I’m not going to repost the whole recipe; the link above has the recipe and step-by-step photos to help you along the way.  I can’t do better than that.  What I can do, though, is tell you how I spread the process over 4 days.  In reading the original recipe, I knew I didn’t have that kind of time during one whole day.  Each step requires you to leave the product in the fridge for 30-60 minutes.  So, I spread the work out.

Day 1, after work:  baked cake.  wrapped it up and left it alone, on the kitchen counter, overnight.

Day 2, after work: crumbled cake with fork, and mixed in the frosting.  Rolled 20-30 balls and let it hang out in the fridge for an hour.  Not including the wait time, this took about 20 minutes–or an episode of Jeopardy.

I tackled the cheesecake layer the second night as well.  This is by far the messiest layer.  It took about 2 episodes of Mad Men to mold all the cheesecake around each cake ball, but this is including the time it took to wash my hands after every 3 or so.  I let it all rest overnight in the fridge.

Day 3:  completed the process.

While time-consuming, this definitely wasn’t hard to make.  Oh, have I mentioned the compliments you’ll receive?  Trust me–you’ll receive lots of compliments.   And, they’re delicious!  I am so glad I made them for a day when we had lots of guests over, because my waistline would not be happy for me if I made them just for me. 

Anyways, would love to hear about your experiences with cake pops.  These are the only ones I’ve ever had, so I’d like to know about where people are finding them, how they stack up, and if you decide to attempt this recipe.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

